Product Highlight: Herbal Lotion

We’re back again! This week, we’ll talk a little about our herbal lotion.  In my first post, I (Patrice) mentioned that salve was the first product I made back in 2009.  Slowly, I began to make more and more of what my family uses, until now, the only thing I can think of that we don’t make is hair conditioner, and that’s mostly because I love the one we buy.

Since I seemed to be on a roll, making salve, lip balm and liquid soap, among other things, I decided to tackle lotion too. Just for fun.  I was actually quite happy with the lotion I was using at that time.  It was handmade by a friend and I had no problem at all continuing to buy my lotion from her.

When I first started making it, I admit, I didn’t like it as much as the lotion my friend made.  Something just wasn’t right.  I like my lotion rich, thick and creamy. Something was missing.  After a bit of trial and error, I’d finally gotten the exact formula I wanted and I couldn’t be happier.  While I miss being in regular contact with my friend, buying her lotion, I’m great as far as my lotion needs.  She and I just need to get together and go out somewhere. 🙂

One of the main ingredients in our lotion is the amazing herb calendula.calendula

Calendula is great for inflammation, it’s anti-spasmodic, heals wounds, internal and external ulcers, it’s anti-septic, improves blood flow to affected area, is good for acne and diaper rash, it’s anti-fungal, and, it’s just an all around amazing herb. It’s absolutely fantastic for the skin.  I love that our lotion is not just lotion.  Because of the various ingredients in it, it has a multitude of healing properties with no harmful side effects.  How many can say that about lotion they use daily?

Honestly, I (Jaiela) don’t know what to say here.  For as long as I can remember, I have used natural lotions.  I can’t recall the last time I used store bought lotion or any other body product.  The lotion works like it should.  It gives me smooth, soft, moisturized skin, even in colder months.

Don’t you just feel sorry for poor deprived Jaiela?

20140911_181458-1

(The Lotion is on the left.  On the right is our Herbal Muscle Lotion)

“My friends and I use the lotion after showering at the pool &  hot tub. The chlorine in both areas tends to dry you skin out tremendously, especially the feet. The lotion brings the skin back to life and moisturizes thoroughly. No dry, ashy, or cracked skin anywhere!”  – TB

That’s it for now! Next week is our final product highlighting post in this series- Soap!

Leave a Reply

